Here starts Day 1 of the Winter Break art skill practice…

I didn’t get to do a lot of art as I wanted to but I did finish two of the material studies.

screenshot_13It’s definitely harder than I thought. The Limestone has a bit too much color than it should but I do like the way it looks… I’m also following a pre existing template by TomLopezArt.

My goal is to finish at least 50 of these by the time Winter break is over. I’m keeping this blog to see if I actually improve… haha. My other goal is to improve in color and light and hand and feet.

I’m currently reading Color and Light, A Guide for the Realist Painter by James Gurney as my ‘textbook’. I was supposed to do life studies of perspective and value but didn’t get the time to do that.

My mom and I visited the neighbors as I do every once a year during Christmas break to give them a gift. The neighbors are so very sweet. They’re siblings, never married, I think… Sarah bakes cookies and gives them to us as a gift. Roy is a sweet old man, around the age of 80, who walks around the neighborhood and slides the empty trashcan up to the garage.

Their house is also so beautiful and cozy.

They have gorgeous ornaments…

Some cookies and punch…

I bought them this last year! It’s so sweet they still hang it up in the tree.

 And then, finally, a big sofa and a small Christmas tree…

